Andrey Kuzkin b. 1979

I am always trying to figure out what is going on, what is real, what is the world we really live in. Cognition is my way and my understanding of art

In the sphere of interests of Andrei Kuzkin includes exhaustion, seclusion, meditative work and relations between human and time. Kuzkin is distinguished by his romantic approach to the artist’s personality, making his work related to the semi-mystical views of Western art of the 1950s. His art sometimes echoes the magical practices of Joseph Boyce. The artist is a shaman, he is different from other people, he creates art from simple things and everyday situations. An example of this is the performance by Andrei Kuzkin, in which he took from each viewer a small object, glued it to a piece of paper on which he painted the numbers, and returned it to the owner in an envelope.

 

His personal projects were presented at the Moscow Museum of Modern Art. Andrei participated in 2 Triennial of Contemporary Russian art, Manifesta - 10, 6 Berlin Biennale of Modern Art, Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art. Since 2006 is a member of the Moscow Union of Artists. In 2009 he became a laureate of the Innovation Prize in the nomination New Generation, and in the period 2009-2011 he was a Soratnik Prize Laureate three times. In 2016 he became the winner of the Innovation Prize in the nomination Project of the Year.

 

His works are in the collections of the Centre Pompidou, State Tretyakov Gallery, Moscow Museum of Modern Art, the National Center for Contemporary Art in Moscow, the National Museum of Gdansk in Poland, the V-A-C Foundation, the Stella Art Foundation in Moscow, the Open Gallery in Moscow, the Russian Art World Foundation and private collections.

Андрей Кузькин 1979

Вещи, найденные, сделанные самим  не важно, становятся частью меня. Становятся материальным подтверждением памяти. 

В сферу интересов Андрея Кузькина входят утомление, уединение, медитативная работа, отношения между человеком и временем. Кузькин отличается своим романтическим подходом к личности художника, что роднит его творчество с полумистическими взглядами западного искусства 1950-х годов. Его искусство порой перекликается с магическими практиками Йозефа Бойса. Художник является шаманом: он отличается от других людей, создает искусство из простых вещей и повседневных ситуаций. Примером этому является перформанс Андрея Кузькина, в котором он взял у каждого зрителя небольшой предмет, приклеил его к листу бумаги, на котором он нарисовал цифры, и вернул его к владельцу в конверте. 

 

Персональные проекты художника были представлены в Московском музее современного искусства, а также на 2 Триеннале современного российского искусства, Manifesta - 10, 6 Берлинской биеннале современного искусства, Московской биеннале современного искусства. С 2006 является членом Московского Союза Художников. В 2009 году стал лауреатом премии «Инновация» в номинации «Новая генерация», а также в период 2009-2011 трижды становился лауреатом премии «Соратник». В 2016 году стал лауреат премии «Инновация» в номинации «Проект года». 

 

Работы находятся в коллекциях Центра Помпиду, Государственной Третьяковской галереи, Московского музея современного искусства, Государственного центра современного искусства в Москве, Национального музея Гданьска в Польше, фонда V-A-C, Stella Art Foundation в Москве, Открытой галереи в Москве, фонда «Русский художественный мир» и частных собраниях.