Anastasia Potemkina b. 1984

I’m very encouraged by the life growing from the roof of a birch or through the asphalt fungus, which is all that was not envisioned by man when he built playgrounds, hospitals, houses and highways

Anastasia Potemkina is an interdisciplinary artist who works with various media: painting, video, performance art, installation. In her works the artist explores approaches to the relationship between human and nature. The special interest in biology from early childhood is clearly reflected in the artistic practice,, in which she often addresses the kingdom of plants, the world of flora and fauna.

 

In 2011 she co-founded the interdisciplinary platform Laboratory of Urban Fauna, researching the cultural status of animals and plants, as well as architectural and political consequences of cohabitation between species in the city outside the traditional concepts of ecology.

 

Participant of Triennale of Russian Contemporary Art, Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art, Moscow International Biennale of Young Art. ArtInStyle Award, established by InStyle Russia and the Cosmoscow International Contemporary Art Fair. The nominee of the Kandinsky Prize (2015, 2017). Works of the artist are in the collections of the Center of Contemporary Art Winzavod.

 


 

For me Anastasia Potemkina's work tastes like nettle, smells like a minimalist kimono and has the color of another, different one. Her practice is deeply connected with (almost witchy) care of the properties of those organic processes that remain at the edge of our vision, consciously or not. She herself is a new species for me – a hybrid, cyborganic and extremely ephemeral.

 

Snejana Krasteva, curator

Анастасия Потемкина 1984

Меня очень вдохновляет жизнь растущей из крыши березы или пробивающегося через асфальт гриба, то есть все то, что не предусматривалось человеком, когда он строил детские площадки, больницы, дома и шоссе

Анастасия Потемкина — междисциплинарная художница, работающая с различными медиа: живопись, видео, перформанс, инсталляция. В своем творчестве она исследует подходы к отношениям между человеком и природой. Особый интерес к биологии с раннего детства ярко отражается в художественной практике художницы Потемкиной, в которой она часто обращается к царству растений, миру флоры и фауны. 

 

В 2011 году стала сооснователем междисциплинарной платформы «Лаборатория городской фауны», исследующей  культурный статус животных и растений, а также архитектурные и политические последствия сожительства между видами в городе вне традиционных понятий экологии.

 

Участница Триеннале российского современного искусства, Московской биеннале современного искусства, Московской международной биеннале молодого искусства. Лауреат премии ArtInStyle, учрежденной журналом InStyle Russia и международной ярмаркой современного искусства Cosmoscow. Номинант премии Кандинского (2015, 2017). Работы художницы находятся в коллекциях Центра современного искусства «Винзавод» и частных коллекциях. 

 


 

Для меня творчество Анастасии Потемкиной имеет вкус крапивы, запах минималистического кимоно и цвет другого, иного. Её практика глубоко связана с проявлением заботы, граничащей с ведьминской, к свойствам тех органических процессов, которые остаются на краю нашего поля зрения, сознательно или нет. Она сама для меня новый вид – гибридный, киборганический и крайне эфемерный.

 

Снежана Крастева, куратор