Maria Agureeva b. 1985

I’m interested in the balance of fragile nature and synthetic nature. Human nature is destructive, and excessive consumption is part of who we are. I would like to think that we can change, but in this respect I’m pessimistic

A feature of Maria Agureeva's artwork is that the artist utilizes different forms of art: sculpture, installation, performance and video. Thus, using various media tools, Maria explores the relationship to the human body in society, as well as the relationship between the global body of humanity and the body of nature. Putting naturalness against the imposed necessity of conventional beauty, the artist combines natural and synthetic materials, highlighting the possibilities for transformation and redesign of the body as a modern form of worship. 

 

Personal projects were represented on 5 and 6 Moscow biennale of Contemporary art (2103, 2015). Her works were exhibited throughout Russia, Finland, Germany, USA, UK and Italy. Works are in the permanent collection Moscow museum of Modern Art and private collections. 

 

Maria is a recipient of grants from Ruinart Art Patronat and Trust for Mutual Understanding; Kandinsky Prize nominee (2013) and Laguna Art Prize laureate (2018). Residency: 18th street art center (Los Angeles), Residency Unlimited (New York).

Мария Агуреева 1985

Мне интересно взаимодействие и поиск баланса между иногда хрупкой, а иногда разрушительной природой и глобальным телом человечества. Может ли эта связь в современном мире быть органичной для обоих сторон? 

Особенностью творчества Марии Агуреевой является то, что художница работает с абсолютно разными формами искусства: скульптурой, инсталляцией, перформансом и видео. Таким образом, при помощи различных медиа Мария исследует отношение к человеческому телу в обществе, а также взаимоотношения глобального тела человечества и тела природы. Сталкивая природную естественность и навязанную необходимость условной красоты, художница соединяет натуральные и синтетические материалы, подчеркивая возможности для трансформации и редизайна тела как современной формы культа.

 

Персональные проекты были представлены в рамках параллельной программы 5 и 6 Московской биеннале современного искусства (2013, 2015).  Работы художницы были показаны в России, Финляндии, Германии, США, Англии, Италии. Работы находятся в постоянной коллекции Московского музея современного искусства и частных коллекциях.   

 

Мария – обладательница грантов от Ruinart Art Patronat и Trust for Mutual Understanding; номинант премии Кандинского (2013) и лауреат Laguna Art Prize (2018). Участница следующих резиденций: 18th street art center (Лос-Анджелес), Residency Unlimited (Нью-Йорк).